Deakin is named after Alfred Deakin, Attorney-General in the first Commonwealth Government who became the second Prime Minister of Australia after the resignation of Sir Edmund Barton in 1903. He was a Legislator, Federalist and one of the Founders of the Constitution. The streets in Deakin are named after Governors, Governors-General and diplomats.

A local shopping centre is located on Hopetoun Circuit and contains an IGA supermarket, service station, newsagent, chemist, and restaurants. The Deakin Health Spa, adjacent to the shops, has recently been taken over and rebadged as the local Fitness First facility. The Embassy Hotel/Motel is also adjacent to the shops.

Schools in the suburb of Deakin include Alfred Deakin High School and Canberra Girls’ Grammar School.

Located on Adelaide Avenue the Lodge is the official residence of the Prime Minister of Australia. The Lodge is a modest, 40 room Georgian revival style mansion, located in 18,000 square metres (4.4 acres) of landscaped grounds.

Officially opened by the Duke of Edinburgh on February 22, 1965, the Royal Australian Mint was commissioned to produce Australia’s decimal coinage. The Royal Australian Mint holds a place in history as the first mint in Australia not to be a branch of the Royal Mint, London.

Deakin contains the embassies of Afghanistan, Bosnia, Hungary and Italy and the high commissions of Brunei, Cyprus, Fiji, Mauritius and Solomon Islands.

Find Properties in Deakin
Recent activity in Deakin
Other Suburbs

Enquiry Form