Hall is a small town in the north of the Canberra. Founded in 1882, it was named after the first landholder in the area and pioneer of the Canberra region, Henry Hall. He obtained a grant of 3,492 acres of land in 1833, which he named ‘Charnwood’. In 1911, Hall was included within the boundary of the land allocated for the Australian Capital Territory, close to the north western corner, near the New South Wales border. Although considered a village, similar to Tharwa, in practical terms Hall might now be considered an outer suburb of Australia’s capital Canberra.
In 1954, the main street of Hall, which had been part of the state highway system since 1935, was named the Barton Highway. In 1980, the alignment of the highway was shifted to the south as part of a dual carriage upgrade, bypassing Hall completely.
Some features of note within Hall village are the equestrian park, playing fields, showground, and former Hall Primary School, along with a small shopping centre and three historic churches. The showground area plays host to the Hall Markets, a popular monthly charity market showcasing hand-produced goods.